Award Ceremony in the Spirit of Astrid Lindgren

The first Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was presented on the fourth of June at a ceremony, open to the public, in Stockholm.

The 2003 laureates Christine Nöstlinger and Maurice Sendak, represented by his friend Judy Taylor Hough, received the award from the hand of H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria. Among the speakers were Swedish Prime Minister Göran Persson och Minister for Culture Marita Ulvskog. A children's choir, musicians, dancers and actors contributed to a prize-giving ceremony in the spirit of Astrid Lindgren. More than 1000 people attended the ceremony at the open-air museum of Skansen in Stockholm.