How to nominate

Please note, only approved nominating bodies are welcome to propose candidates. The final date for submitting nominations was May 15, 2020. The form can be submitted in one of the following ways:

1. Through our online form
The e-service is now closed.

2. By email
Download a printable PDF form

3. By ordinary mail
Download a printable PDF form

Please read the nomination rules and the sample form thoroughly before submitting the nomination.

Photo: Stefan Tell

Invitation to nominate

Every year, more than a hundred nominating bodies all over the world propose candidates for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.The final date for submitting nominations for the 2021 award was in May 15, 2020. 

The jury of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award invites you to propose candidates for the 2021 Award. Your nominations play a significant role in developing a knowledge bank for international children’s and young adult literature. It forms the basis for the jury’s work of finding a laureate who, in the spirit of Astrid Lindgren, have made a truly significant contribution to reading promotion.


The nomination rules are appointed by the jury and presented in a letter to all nominating bodies. 

1. Who is entitled to submit nominations?
• Only the appointed nominating bodies and the ALMA jury are entitled to propose candidates.

• Nominating bodies may neither nominate themselves, their own projects, nor a project where the nominating body is a co-organiser. A nominating body may not nominate individuals that are part of the management of their own organisation.

2. Who is eligible for nominations?
• Nominating bodies may propose authors, illustrators and storytellers whose work for children and young adults is of the highest artistic quality, and which echoes the same profound spirit of humanity that characterized Astrid Lindgren’s own work. The award is for an entire body of work, not an individual piece.

• Nominating bodies may also propose individuals, organisations, projects or the like that have carried out exceptional work to promote reading for children and young adults.

• The award cannot be given posthumously.

3. How many candidates can be nominated by each organisation?
• Each nominating body is entitled to nominate a total of four candidates in the following categories: author, illustrator, storyteller and reading promotion. It is allowed for a candidate to be nominated in more than one category.

• A maximum of two candidates from the nominating body’s own country.

• A maximum of two candidates from other countries.

4. What should a valid nomination comprise?
• The mandatory fields in the nomination form must be completed. The documents that should accompany a valid nomination is specified in the nomination form.

• In the case of a re-nomination, it is sufficient to send in the first page of the nomination form with the name of the re-nominated candidate. However, information that relates to new works or contains any other relevant new information should be also be submitted.

5. How long is a nomination valid?
• A nomination is only valid for the year in question. The following year(s) the nominating body can re-nominate the candidate(s), see 4.

6. Assessment of candidates
• All candidates have an equal chance, regardless of the nominating body.
• A candidate’s chances are not dependent on the number of nominations received for the candidate in question.

7. Nomination format
• An online nomination form may be filled out on the award website or submitted by e-mail or by ordinary mail.

8. Nomination language
• This invitation and the rules for nomination are available in English and Swedish.

• The nomination form must be submitted in one of these two languages.

9. Final date for nominations
• Nominations must reach the Swedish Arts Council by May 15, 2020.

• The jury maintains the right to reject nominations for the following reasons: late or incomplete nominations, nominations from organisations not approved by the jury or nominations otherwise invalid according to the nomination rules.

10. Address
Nominations may be submitted either online, by e-mail or by regular mail to:

Swedish Arts Council
Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Office
Att. Nomination
P.O. Box 27215 Borgvägen 1–5
SE-102 53 Stockholm, Sweden